Campbell Law Innovation Institute (CLII) announces inaugural board members

The Campbell Law Innovation Institute (CLII) announced its inaugural board members on Sept. 20, 2021.


The mission of the Innovation Institute is to create educational experiences to serve the 21st-century legal services industry, and to research, teach and promote ethical artificial intelligence (AI) using data-driven, human-centered design with the ultimate goal of making a more just and virtuous society. The core value of the CLII is the belief that the ethics of artificial intelligence must be advanced through interdisciplinary study which must include philosophers, theologians and other experts in the humanities who work collaboratively with technologists, lawyers, business leaders and other experts.


“I’m a pleased to announce the list of distinguished members who have agreed to serve on the Institute’s inaugural board,” said Professor Kevin Lee, CLII director. “I am looking forward to working with this group to advance the Institute’s mission and message.”


The new board members are:

  • Tom Brooke ’80 – Principal, TrustBlocks
  • Jeff Cox ’14 – Director of Content & Data Acquisition at UniCourt Inc. (Chair)
  • Emma Dickinson ’14 – Product Manager, Relias
  • Melissa Essary – Dean Emerita and Professor of Law, Campbell Law School
  • Rick Glazier – Director of the North Carolina Justice Center
  • Dr. Christian Greene – Senior Editor (Special Content Editor & General Co-Editor of JLR); Editor and Publications Manager, Stellenbosch University, Author, specialist in African Religions
  • Maggie Huffman ’15 – Product Manager, Lexis/Nexis
  • Dr. Behnam Kia – Principal, Stacks 
  • Kevin Prybol – SVP, Data Science at Certilytics
  • Britni Prybol ’20 – Contracts/IP Professional 
  • David Robinson – Counsel, Nexsen Pruitt; Board of Directors of the North Carolina Bar Association; Co-Chair of the NCBA Future of Law Committee
  • Dr. Phillip M. Thompson – Vice President, Mercy Hospital
  • Dr. Mark Modak-Truran – Professor, Mississippi College of Law
  • Dr. Sherri Yerk-Zweckl – Vice President and Director of Information Technology, Campbell University
  • Harrison Wicker ’20 – Wicker Law Firm 
  • Emily Mehalek ’22 – Recording Secretary and Coordinator