Four Campbell Law advocates compete in NBTA Tournament of Champions

Logo for National Board of Trial Advocacy

Campbell Law advocates are ready to compete in the National Board of Trial Advocacy (NBTA) Tournament of Champions (TOC) hosted by Baylor Law School. The competition will be held virtually via Zoom and will run from Nov. 5-7, 2020. Each round lasts approximately four hours.

Third-year students Daniel Nelson, Macy Stutts and Summer Combs, and second-year students Brianne Habit and Carrie Duhon are representing Campbell Law in the TOC. The team is coached by Campbell Law alumna Tatianna Terry ’19 and Dan Tilly, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs. Terry is a former Top Gun champion as well as an International Client Counseling Competition champion and Tilly is the only law professor to coach two Top Gun champions.

The NBTA is the annual sponsor of the TOC, which is an invitation-only competition that showcases some of the nation’s top law students from 16 of the top trial advocacy institutions, according to the website. Law students compete in teams of four, and each team tries both sides of a civil case — twice as plaintiffs and twice as defendants.

Judges will preside over the trials while evaluators will assess the advocacy of the students and teams. Evaluators will be asked to score the teams on the basis of their trial skills, as demonstrated in direct and cross-examinations of witnesses, handling of exhibits, use and argument of objections and arguments to the jury.

Participating schools are invited based on a three-year performance record at the National Trial Competition and the American Association for Justice National Student Trial Advocacy Competition, and performances at prior TOC  competitions, the website states.

2020 NBTA Tournament of Champions Competition Participating Schools

American University Washington College of Law
Baylor Law School
Brigham Young University J. Reuben Clark Law School
Campbell University Norman Adrian Wiggins School of Law
Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law
Drexel University Thomas R. Kline School of Law
Harvard Law School
Loyola University Chicago School of Law
Mitchell Hamline School of Law
Stetson University College of Law
Syracuse University College of Law
University of California Los Angeles School of Law
University of Akron School of Law
University of California Berkeley School of Law
University of California Hastings College of Law
Wake Forest Law


Callie Davis '20

This article is related to: